Margin rates by broker: 5.15% to 12.45% on a $20,000 loan
The Federal Reserve raised its target range for the federal funds rate to 3.75%–4.00% on September 16, 2026. As posted on October 17, 2026, the margin rate on a $20,000 loan ranges from 5.15% at Public to 12.45% at E*TRADE (Etrade). Held for a year, that is $1,030 of interest against $2,490. The table shows four loan sizes; the calculator below takes yours.
- The lowest posted rates, all under 6% on $20,000, are at Public, Robinhood, Interactive Brokers Pro, Webull Premium and M1. All but Webull tie their rate to the fed funds target or a market benchmark.
- Brokers that price off their own base rate or the prime rate charge 10.95% to 12.45% on the same $20,000: Morgan Stanley (wealth management accounts), tastytrade, Ally, J.P. Morgan, Vanguard (Standard), TradeStation, Schwab, Fidelity, Firstrade and E*TRADE. Several post much lower rates for large balances, such as Firstrade's 8.25% from $1,000,000 and TradeStation's 4.50% from $2 million.
- Vanguard's lower schedules (7.00% and 6.00%) need $1 million or $5 million of qualifying assets at Vanguard.
- Several firms post no rate above $500,000 (Schwab, Fidelity, E*TRADE, Vanguard Standard) and ask you to call. Merrill Edge posts no rate at all.
- Next possible change: the Fed's next meeting ends October 28, 2026. We re-read every page after it.
Posted margin rates at four loan sizes
| Broker | $20,000 | $75,000 | $300,000 | $750,000 | As of (from the broker's page) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public | 5.15% | 5.00% | 4.75% | 4.75% | October 13, 2026 (fee schedule last updated) |
| Robinhood | 5.25% | 5.05% | 4.75% | 4.75% | September 17, 2026 |
| Interactive Brokers (IBKR Pro) | 5.38% | 5.38% | 5.047% | 4.947% | No date on the rate page; benchmark updated 9/29/2026 |
| Webull (Premium) | 5.45% | 5.25% | 4.70% | 4.65% | No date on the pricing page; the same table on its margin page is dated March 31, 2026 |
| M1 | 5.90% | 5.90% | 5.90% | 5.90% | No date in the help article |
| Vanguard (Premier, $5 million or more of qualifying assets) | 6.00% | 6.00% | 6.00% | 6.00% | September 29, 2026 (rate schedules last changed) |
| Interactive Brokers (IBKR Lite) | 6.38% | 6.38% | 6.38% | 6.38% | No date on the rate page; benchmark updated 9/29/2026 |
| moomoo | 6.80% | 6.80% | 6.80% | 6.80% | Fee schedule updated October 1, 2026 (EST) |
| Vanguard (Preferred, $1 million to $4,999,999 of qualifying assets) | 7.00% | 7.00% | 7.00% | Call | September 29, 2026 (rate schedules last changed) |
| Webull (Standard) | 8.74% | 8.74% | 8.74% | 8.74% | No date on the pricing page; the same table on its margin page is dated March 31, 2026 |
| SoFi Invest | 9.75% | 9.00% | 7.50% | 7.00% | No date shown |
| Morgan Stanley (Wealth Management) | 10.95% | 10.95% | 10.45% | 9.45% | September 21, 2026 (base lending rate) |
| tastytrade | 11.00% | 10.00% | 9.00% | 8.50% | July 30, 2026 (commissions and fees document last updated) |
| Ally Invest | 11.50% | 10.50% | 8.25% | 7.75% | 9/16/2026 (rate information accurate as of) |
| J.P. Morgan Self-Directed Investing | 11.75% | 11.00% | 10.75% | 10.00% | No date shown; prime rate 7.00% effective 9/17/2026 (JPMorganChase) |
| Vanguard (Standard) | 11.75% | 11.25% | 10.25% | Call | September 29, 2026 (rate schedules last changed) |
| TradeStation | 12.00% | 11.00% | 11.00% | 6.50% | No date shown |
| Charles Schwab | 12.075% | 10.625% | 10.325% | Call | 9/18/2026 (base rate last changed) |
| Fidelity | 12.075% | 10.625% | 10.325% | Call | September 18, 2026 (base rate effective) |
| Firstrade | 12.25% | 11.50% | 10.75% | 8.85% | September 16, 2026 (base rate) |
| E*TRADE | 12.45% | 11.70% | 10.70% | Call | 09/21/2026 (base rate effective) |
| Merrill Edge | Not posted | Not posted | Not posted | Not posted | — |
Your balance: rate and interest at each broker
Margin rates at Schwab, Fidelity, E*TRADE and other big brokers
What are Charles Schwab's margin rates?
12.075% on a $20,000 loan, or $2,415 of interest over a year, as posted on October 17, 2026. Schwab base rate 10.25%, last changed 9/18/2026, plus or minus a spread. Its posted tiers run from 12.075% on the smallest balances to 10.325% on the largest, and it asks you to call for $500,000 and above. Every tier is in the list below.
How much is Schwab margin interest?
At 12.075% a year, $20,000 borrowed for a full year costs $2,415, roughly $201 a month; $50,000 at 10.625% costs $5,312.50 a year. Schwab: “Interest is calculated daily on the amount borrowed and posted to the account on a monthly basis.” Enter your own balance in the calculator.
What are Fidelity's margin rates?
12.075% on a $20,000 loan, or $2,415 of interest over a year, as posted on October 17, 2026. Fidelity base margin rate 10.825%, effective since September 18, 2026, plus or minus a spread. Its posted tiers run from 12.075% on the smallest balances to 10.325% on the largest, and it asks you to call for $500,000 and above. Every tier is in the list below.
What are E*TRADE's margin rates?
12.45% on a $20,000 loan, or $2,490 of interest over a year, as posted on October 17, 2026. E*TRADE base rate 10.20%, effective 09/21/2026, plus a spread. Its posted tiers run from 12.70% on the smallest balances to 10.70% on the largest, and it asks you to call for $500,000 and above. Every tier is in the list below.
What are Vanguard's margin rates?
11.75% on a $20,000 loan, or $2,350 of interest over a year, as posted on October 17, 2026. Vanguard base rate 9.75%, last changed September 18, 2026, plus or minus a spread. Its posted tiers run from 12.25% on the smallest balances to 10.25% on the largest, and it asks you to call for $500,000 and above. These are Vanguard's Standard rates; its Preferred and Premier schedules need $1 million or $5 million of qualifying assets. Every tier is in the list below.
What are Robinhood's margin rates?
5.25% on a $20,000 loan, or $1,050 of interest over a year, as posted on October 17, 2026. Federal funds target rate upper bound (4.00%) plus a spread that varies by balance; applied to the full balance. Its posted tiers run from 5.25% on the smallest balances to 4.50% on the largest. One rate applies to the whole balance, and Gold members pay nothing on the first $1,000. Every tier is in the list below.
What are Interactive Brokers' margin rates?
5.38% on a $20,000 loan, or $1,076 of interest over a year, as posted on October 17, 2026. IBKR benchmark (USD 3.88%, updated 10/15/2026) plus 1.5%, 1% or 0.75%, blended across tiers. Its posted tiers run from 5.38% on the smallest balances to 4.63% on the largest. The figures are IBKR Pro's; the first $100,000 is charged at the first tier's rate and only the rest at the lower rates. IBKR Lite adds 2.5% to the benchmark. Every tier is in the list below.
What are Webull's margin rates?
5.45% on a $20,000 loan, or $1,090 of interest over a year, as posted on October 17, 2026. Set at Webull's discretion (no formula published). Its posted tiers run from 5.45% on the smallest balances to 4.15% on the largest. These are the Premium rates; Webull Standard charges 8.74% on every balance. Every tier is in the list below.
What are Public's margin rates?
5.15% on a $20,000 loan, or $1,030 of interest over a year, as posted on October 17, 2026. Federal funds target rate upper bound (4.00% as of September 17, 2026) plus 1.15% to 0.50%. Its posted tiers run from 5.15% on the smallest balances to 4.50% on the largest. Every tier is in the list below.
How each broker sets its rate
- Fed funds target plus a spread. Robinhood says its rate “is calculated by adding the Federal Funds Target Rate upper bound and an interest rate, which varies depending on your settled margin account balance”. Public's fee schedule says “As of September 17, 2026, the FFTR is 4.00%.” and lists FFTR + 1.15% up to $50,000. SoFi's help article describes “the upper bound of the Target Federal Funds Rate range plus an additional amount”. M1's rate “is subject to change if and when the Federal Reserve changes its target for the federal funds rate”.
- A market benchmark plus a spread, blended. Interactive Brokers adds 1.5%, 1% or 0.75% (IBKR Pro) or 2.5% (IBKR Lite) to its benchmark, which was 3.88% for U.S. dollars on October 15, 2026. Its page says “IBKR uses a blended rate based on the tiers below.”
- The broker's own base rate. Schwab (“Schwab's current base rate is 10.25%”, last changed 9/18/2026), Fidelity (10.825%, effective September 18, 2026), E*TRADE (10.20%, effective 09/21/2026), Vanguard (9.75%, changed September 18, 2026; its rate schedules changed again on September 29) and Firstrade (11%, as of September 16, 2026). Morgan Stanley's wealth management schedule says “The margin base lending rate is set by Morgan Stanley Smith Barney LLC and it is currently 10.20%.”, dated as of September 21, 2026, the same base rate E*TRADE posts. tastytrade's fee document, last updated July 30, 2026, still says “Base Rate = 10% as of January 1st, 2025.” Ally's “base rate of 5.75% is set at Ally Invest Securities' sole discretion” and its tiers add a percentage it does not publish. TradeStation does not state its base rate.
- Prime plus a spread. J.P. Morgan Self-Directed Investing lists prime + 4.75% up to $25,000, falling to prime + 2.50% up to $3 million, and SOFR plus a spread above that. Its page does not state the resulting rate.
- No formula. moomoo's fee schedule lists 6.8% a year for long U.S. stock positions; Webull's pricing page says “The margin rate is set at our discretion and is subject to change without notice.”
Details that change what you pay
- Robinhood applies one rate to the whole balance: “The following interest rates are applied to your full margin balance depending on how much you borrow”. For Gold members, the rate applies to margin “that you use over $1,000 since your first $1,000 of margin used is included in Gold”. At 5.25%, an interest-free $1,000 is worth $52.50 a year; Gold costs $5 a month or $50 a year, so the saving roughly pays for the subscription and no more. The table and calculator use Robinhood's standard rates.
- Interactive Brokers does the opposite: the first $100,000 is charged at the first tier's rate and only the rest at the lower rate, so its $300,000 rate is a blend.
- Vanguard's lower schedules need assets at Vanguard. Preferred (7.00% up to $499,999) needs $1 million to $4,999,999 of qualifying assets; Premier (6.00% up to $999,999) needs $5 million or more.
- Firstrade publishes rates above $500,000 (8.85%, and 8.25% from $1,000,000); Schwab, E*TRADE and now Fidelity ask you to call. Fidelity's table listed 8.00% and 7.75% for those balances when we read it on September 30, 2026; on October 17, 2026 it stops at $499,999 and says “Special rates may be available for higher balances.”
- Wells Fargo and Edward Jones price by your household's assets, not by the loan, so they are not in the table or the calculator. WellsTrade, Wells Fargo's self-directed account: “We calculate your total margin rate by adding the WSJ Prime Rate to our rate, which adjusts based on your household’s assets under management.” Its table runs from 11.00% for households with less than $250,000 to 6.50% from $5,000,000, and it says “As of 09/17/26, the WSJ Prime Rate is 7.00%.” Edward Jones: “Our Personal Line of Credit is a margin loan and is available only on certain types of accounts.” Its rates run from 9.00% (less than $100,000 of assets under care) to 5.75% ($10,000,000 and over); “Rates effective as of September 17, 2026.”
- Webull's pricing page shows no date. Its Margin tab, read October 17, 2026, shows the same rates as the table on its margin page that says “*Margin rates shown are as of October 16, 2026 and are subject to change.”
- Schwab: “No interest charged for margin balances below $100 on Standard Rates.”
- M1 promotion: M1 advertises a “Promotional rate: 4.24%” for 12 months for eligible accounts that opt in before December 31, 2026; its standard rate is 5.90%.
Every tier, broker by broker
Charles Schwab
Schwab base rate 10.25%, last changed 9/18/2026, plus or minus a spread. As of: 9/18/2026 (base rate last changed). Source: Charles Schwab.
- Below $100 (no interest): 0.00%
- $100-$24,999.99: 12.075%
- $25,000-$49,999.99: 11.575%
- $50,000-$99,999.99: 10.625%
- $100,000-$249,999.99: 10.575%
- $250,000-$499,999.99: 10.325%
- $500,000 and above (call): call
Fidelity
Fidelity base margin rate 10.825%, effective since September 18, 2026, plus or minus a spread. As of: September 18, 2026 (base rate effective). Source: Fidelity.
- $0-$24,999: 12.075%
- $25,000-$49,999: 11.575%
- $50,000-$99,999: 10.625%
- $100,000-$249,999: 10.575%
- $250,000-$499,999: 10.325%
- $500,000 and above (call): call
E*TRADE
E*TRADE base rate 10.20%, effective 09/21/2026, plus a spread. As of: 09/21/2026 (base rate effective). Source: E*TRADE.
- Less than $10,000: 12.70%
- $10,000 to $24,999.99: 12.45%
- $25,000 to $49,999.99: 12.20%
- $50,000 to $99,999.99: 11.70%
- $100,000 to $249,999.99: 11.20%
- $250,000 to $499,999.99: 10.70%
- $500,000 and above (call): call
Vanguard (Standard)
Vanguard base rate 9.75%, last changed September 18, 2026, plus or minus a spread. As of: September 29, 2026 (rate schedules last changed). Source: Vanguard.
- Up to $19,999: 12.25%
- $20,000-$49,999: 11.75%
- $50,000-$99,999: 11.25%
- $100,000-$249,999: 10.75%
- $250,000-$499,999: 10.25%
- $500,000 and above (call): call
Vanguard (Preferred, $1 million to $4,999,999 of qualifying assets)
Base rate minus 2.75%. As of: September 29, 2026 (rate schedules last changed). Source: Vanguard.
- Up to $499,999: 7.00%
- $500,000 and above (call): call
Vanguard (Premier, $5 million or more of qualifying assets)
Base rate minus 3.75%. As of: September 29, 2026 (rate schedules last changed). Source: Vanguard.
- Up to $999,999: 6.00%
- $1,000,000 and above (call): call
Firstrade
Firstrade base rate 11%, as of September 16, 2026, plus or minus a spread. As of: September 16, 2026 (base rate). Source: Firstrade.
- $0-$24,999: 12.25%
- $25,000-$49,999: 12.00%
- $50,000-$99,999: 11.50%
- $100,000-$249,999: 11.00%
- $250,000-$499,999: 10.75%
- $500,000-$999,999: 8.85%
- $1,000,000+: 8.25%
Ally Invest
Ally base rate 5.75% plus a standard percentage per tier (spreads not published). As of: 9/16/2026 (rate information accurate as of). Source: Ally Invest.
- $0.01-$9,999: 11.50%
- $10,000-$24,999: 11.50%
- $25,000-$49,999: 11.25%
- $50,000-$99,999: 10.50%
- $100,000-$249,999: 9.25%
- $250,000-$499,999: 8.25%
- $500,000-$999,999: 7.75%
- $1,000,000+: 7.00%
TradeStation
Base rate set at TradeStation's discretion (not stated), varying with the size of the debit balance. As of: No date shown. Source: TradeStation.
- Less than $50,000: 12.00%
- $50,000-$499,999: 11.00%
- $500,000-$1,999,999: 6.50%
- $2,000,000+: 4.50%
J.P. Morgan Self-Directed Investing
Prime rate plus a spread up to $3 million; SOFR plus a spread above. The page gives the formula, not the rate. As of: No date shown; prime rate 7.00% effective 9/17/2026 (JPMorganChase). Source: J.P. Morgan Self-Directed Investing.
- $0 to $25,000: prime + 4.75% = 11.75% with prime at 7.00%
- $25,001 to $50,000: prime + 4.50% = 11.50% with prime at 7.00%
- $50,001 to $100,000: prime + 4.00% = 11.00% with prime at 7.00%
- $100,001 to $500,000: prime + 3.75% = 10.75% with prime at 7.00%
- $500,001 to $1,000,000: prime + 3.00% = 10.00% with prime at 7.00%
- $1,000,001 to $3,000,000: prime + 2.50% = 9.50% with prime at 7.00%
- $3,000,001 and above (SOFR + 2.35% or 1.85%): call
Interactive Brokers (IBKR Pro)
IBKR benchmark (USD 3.88%, updated 10/15/2026) plus 1.5%, 1% or 0.75%, blended across tiers. As of: No date on the rate page; benchmark updated 9/29/2026. Source: Interactive Brokers.
- 0 to 100,000: 5.38% on the part of the balance in this tier
- 100,000 to 1,000,000: 4.88% on the part of the balance in this tier
- 1,000,000 to 50,000,000: 4.63% on the part of the balance in this tier
Interactive Brokers (IBKR Lite)
IBKR benchmark (USD 3.88%, updated 10/15/2026) plus 2.5%. As of: No date on the rate page; benchmark updated 9/29/2026. Source: Interactive Brokers.
- All balances: 6.38%
Robinhood
Federal funds target rate upper bound (4.00%) plus a spread that varies by balance; applied to the full balance. As of: September 17, 2026. Source: Robinhood.
- Up to $50,000: 5.25%
- $50,000 up to $100,000: 5.05%
- $100,000 up to $1 million: 4.75%
- $1 million up to $10 million: 4.50%
Public
Federal funds target rate upper bound (4.00% as of September 17, 2026) plus 1.15% to 0.50%. As of: October 13, 2026 (fee schedule last updated). Source: Public.
- Up to $50,000: 5.15%
- Over $50,000 up to $100,000: 5.00%
- Over $100,000 up to $1 million: 4.75%
- Over $1 million up to $10 million: 4.50%
Webull (Premium)
Set at Webull's discretion (no formula published). As of: No date on the pricing page; the same table on its margin page is dated March 31, 2026. Source: Webull.
- X ≤ 25K: 5.45%
- 25K < X ≤ 100K: 5.25%
- 100K < X ≤ 500K: 4.70%
- 500K < X ≤ 1M: 4.65%
- 1M < X ≤ 10M: 4.45%
- 10M < X ≤ 25M: 4.40%
- 25M < X: 4.15%
Webull (Standard)
Set at Webull's discretion (no formula published). As of: No date on the pricing page; the same table on its margin page is dated March 31, 2026. Source: Webull.
- All balances: 8.74%
SoFi Invest
Upper bound of the federal funds target range plus 5.75% to 1%. As of: No date shown. Source: SoFi Invest.
- $0-$50K: 9.75%
- $50K-$100K: 9.00%
- $100K-$200K: 8.50%
- $200K-$500K: 7.50%
- $500K-$1M: 7.00%
- $1M-$10M: 6.00%
moomoo
One rate for long U.S. stock positions; no formula published. As of: Fee schedule updated October 1, 2026 (EST). Source: moomoo.
- All balances (long U.S. stocks): 6.80%
M1
One rate; changes when the Federal Reserve changes its federal funds target. As of: No date in the help article. Source: M1.
- All balances: 5.90%
tastytrade
tastytrade base rate 10% as of January 1, 2025, plus or minus a spread. As of: July 30, 2026 (commissions and fees document last updated). Source: tastytrade.
- $0-$24,999: 11.00%
- $25,000-$49,999: 10.50%
- $50,000-$99,999: 10.00%
- $100,000-$249,999: 9.50%
- $250,000-$499,999: 9.00%
- $500,000-$999,999: 8.50%
- $1,000,000+: 8.00%
Morgan Stanley (Wealth Management)
Morgan Stanley Smith Barney margin base lending rate 10.20% as of September 21, 2026, plus or minus a percentage. As of: September 21, 2026 (base lending rate). Source: Morgan Stanley.
- $0-$99,999: 10.95%
- $100,000-$499,999: 10.45%
- $500,000-$999,999: 9.45%
- $1,000,000-$4,999,999: 9.075%
- $5,000,000-$9,999,999: 8.825%
- $10,000,000-$19,999,999: 7.575%
- $20,000,000-$49,999,999: 7.075%
- $50,000,000+: 6.575%
Before you borrow
A margin loan is secured by the securities in your account. If they fall in value, the broker can demand more money or sell them. Public's margin page puts it this way: “Public Investing may sell some or all of your securities, without prior approval or notice.” For what your idle cash earns at the same brokers, see our cash sweep rates.
Rechecks and changes
We re-read every page after each Federal Reserve meeting: next after October 28, 2026 and December 9, 2026.
- . Re-read every page. Webull raised each Premium tier by 0.25 point: 5.45% up to $25,000 (was 5.20%), 5.25% to $100,000, 4.70% to $500,000, 4.65% to $1 million and 4.45% to $10 million, and added 4.40% to $25 million and 4.15% above; its margin page now dates its rates October 16, 2026. Webull Standard stays 8.74%. Public's fee schedule is now dated October 13, 2026, with the same rates. No other posted rate changed. Added quick answers for Schwab, Fidelity, E*TRADE, Vanguard, Robinhood, Interactive Brokers, Webull and Public.
- . Re-read every page. Fidelity no longer posts rates for balances of $500,000 and above: on September 30 its table listed 8.00% for $500,000 to $999,999 and 7.75% over $1 million; it now stops at $499,999 and asks you to call. Public's fee schedule is now dated September 25, 2026, with the same rates. SoFi moved its margin page to a new address with the same rates, and Robinhood reworded its Gold page; the first $1,000 of margin is still included. TradeStation raised every tier by 0.25 point: 12.00% below $50,000 (was 11.75%), 11.00% to $499,999, 6.50% from $500,000 and 4.50% from $2 million. No other posted rate changed. Added tastytrade and Morgan Stanley's wealth management accounts (now 17 brokers), and a note on Wells Fargo and Edward Jones, which set the rate by household assets rather than the loan.
- . First published.
Test cases
The calculator's code was checked against a separate reference calculation at 37 balances for every broker, including each tier boundary. You can rerun that comparison in your browser.
Sources
- Charles Schwab, Margin rates and requirements
- Fidelity, Commissions, margin rates and fees
- E*TRADE, Pricing and rates
- Vanguard, Margin
- Firstrade, Margin rates
- Ally Invest, Margin account
- TradeStation, Margin rates
- J.P. Morgan Self-Directed Investing, Margin trading
- JPMorganChase, Historical prime rate
- Interactive Brokers, Margin rates
- Interactive Brokers, Benchmark rates
- Robinhood, Margin rates
- Robinhood, Gold overview
- Public, Margin
- Public, Fee schedule
- Webull, Pricing (Margin tab)
- Webull, Margin trading
- SoFi Invest, Margin loans
- SoFi, What are tiered margin rates
- moomoo, Fee schedule for U.S. residents
- M1, What are the M1 Margin Loan interest rates?
- M1, Margin promotion
- Merrill Edge, Margin trading
- tastytrade, Commissions and fees (PDF)
- Morgan Stanley, Margin interest rate schedule, September 2026 (PDF)
- Wells Fargo, WellsTrade pricing and fees
- Edward Jones, Current rates
- Federal Reserve, FOMC statement, September 16, 2026
- Federal Reserve, FOMC meeting calendars
Dollars Ahead is not affiliated with any broker on this page and earns nothing from it. Rates change without notice; the broker's own page and your account agreement are the final word. This page is not financial advice.